Uploading Existing Files Safely
You may already have documents on your computer, for example in your Documents library or on your Desktop. If you decide to upload them to SkyDrive, it's important to understand that you're actually uploading a copy of each file. To avoid problems, you should only edit the version that is in your SkyDrive. If you still have a copy of the file on your computer (for example, in your Documents library), you can either delete that copy or keep it as a backup.
Another solution is to download the SkyDrive Desktop App. The app creates a folder on your computer that stays in sync with your SkyDrive. You can then simply move your documents into that folder to upload them to your SkyDrive. Since the files will stay in sync, you are free to open them either from the folder, or from your SkyDrive.
You may already have documents on your computer, for example in your Documents library or on your Desktop. If you decide to upload them to SkyDrive, it's important to understand that you're actually uploading a copy of each file. To avoid problems, you should only edit the version that is in your SkyDrive. If you still have a copy of the file on your computer (for example, in your Documents library), you can either delete that copy or keep it as a backup.
Another solution is to download the SkyDrive Desktop App. The app creates a folder on your computer that stays in sync with your SkyDrive. You can then simply move your documents into that folder to upload them to your SkyDrive. Since the files will stay in sync, you are free to open them either from the folder, or from your SkyDrive.