Screen Safety Tips
Would you feel comfortable checking your bank account online while a coworker looked over your shoulder? Probably not. It's a good idea to think of screen sharing the same way. Basically, screen sharing lets the other person see your entire desktop, plus anything else you have open. That can include your bank account, your email - even photos or websites that you don't want other people to see. To keep your information private, always follow these safety tips.
Check your desktop before you share your screen. The other person will be able to see any files, folders, or icons that you have saved there, plus the image you're using for your background. Anything that you want to keep private should be changed or moved to another location.
Close any programs you don't want the other person to see. That includes your browser, and any browser tabs you may have forgotten about. If you leave that information open, you may click it by accident while you're in the middle of a session.
Sign out of IM programs like Google Talk. You could also change your online status to "Busy" to let your friends know you're unavailable. That way, you won't receive any unexpected IMs, or share a private IM conversation by accident.
Would you feel comfortable checking your bank account online while a coworker looked over your shoulder? Probably not. It's a good idea to think of screen sharing the same way. Basically, screen sharing lets the other person see your entire desktop, plus anything else you have open. That can include your bank account, your email - even photos or websites that you don't want other people to see. To keep your information private, always follow these safety tips.
Check your desktop before you share your screen. The other person will be able to see any files, folders, or icons that you have saved there, plus the image you're using for your background. Anything that you want to keep private should be changed or moved to another location.
Close any programs you don't want the other person to see. That includes your browser, and any browser tabs you may have forgotten about. If you leave that information open, you may click it by accident while you're in the middle of a session.
Sign out of IM programs like Google Talk. You could also change your online status to "Busy" to let your friends know you're unavailable. That way, you won't receive any unexpected IMs, or share a private IM conversation by accident.